Types of User Acceptance Testing for Oracle

In most cases, details of the software tests you want to run depending on the software types one is developing. However, most businesses use one of the following types of user acceptance testing:

1. Alpha and Beta testing

Usually, alpha testing is performed during the initial phase of development. It is typically the responsibility of the business’s internal team and must be finished well before the platform is made available to an external team of testers, let alone end-users.

In addition, the potential end-users group can also be used for performing alpha testing, but they are still run in the development environment. 

In spite of everything, it is the responsibility of the alpha testers team to collect feedback and pass it on to the development team, who will then address specific issues and improve the overall usability of the product. 

The other part of this type of user acceptance testing, the beta test, is commonly known as “field testing”. Contrary to alpha testing, it is only performed in the customer’s environment. It needs extensive testing performed by those using the system in their own environments. 

Similar to alpha testers, these customers must provide extensive feedback, which is then utilized to improve the product performance. 

2. Contract Acceptance Tests

Contract acceptance testing is used to test a platform against specific criteria mentioned and outlined in the client’s agreement.

However, before the contract agreement, the project team is responsible for establishing the relevant specifications for acceptance. 

3. Regulation Acceptance Tests

Regulation acceptance tests are also known as “Compliance Acceptance Testing”. As the name implies, this type of user acceptance testing is used to check whether the product conforms to specific regulations or not. These regulations could refer to governmental or legal regulations or both. 

4. Operational Acceptance Testing

This is another type of user acceptance testing that comes with alternative names. You may know it as  “Operational Readiness Testing”, “Production Acceptance Testing”, “Operational Readiness Testing”, or “Production Acceptance Testing”.

All of these names suggest test cases that confirm that workflows are in place to ensure that the software or system can actually be used.

User testing, security reviews, backup plans, and maintenance processes are some examples of these workflows. 

5. Black-Box-Tests

Black box testing is usually considered functional testing, which caters to the specific requirements of a platform and lacks the type of user component that UAT testing requires. 

However, to a certain degree, black-box testing can also be categorized as a type of user acceptance testing since it certainly shares the same principles.

With the help of black-box testing, specific functionalities are checked without testers seeing the internal code structure of the software. They only understand the requirements that must be met. 

For this reason, the name “Black Box” describes this anonymity. Input is set, and an output arrives, but the testers are unaware of the intervening code. Simply put, they understand what needs to happen. They just don’t know-how.

About the Company:

Opkey offers no code continuous test automation platform that is user-friendly and built for change. The company helps automate process intelligence and testing, which empowers large organizations to keep pace with release schedules, reduce risk and ensure business continuity.

Literature Junkie, Marketing Specialist, and Content Producer. Writing quality content is my passion. Additionally, I love to listen to music every time no matter if I'm working or traveling.